“But I don’t want to!”, these are the familiar cries of children and teens and maybe even adults who cannot stand another minute of practicing their instrument or sport. It turns out that there is no such thing as too much practice.  There is always a positive side when you practice, but never negative, you get better every minute you practice even if it’s just a little.

According to the Journal of Neuroscience, “Assistant professor Alaa Ahmed and two of her colleagues in the integrative physiology department at the University of Colorado-Boulder asked study subjects to move a cursor on a screen by manipulating a robotic arm.” Every time you do it, your brain remembers a little part of it, making you nervous system predict what you are going to do next thus making muscle movements more efficient.

I feel like this is true especially when playing an instrument. Every time I practice I always remember something useful, whether its notes or a rhythm. The next day I can improve or tweak the rhythm to what ever I like. Just remember there is no such thing as too much practice.

